The United Nations Correspondents Association
2017 UNCA Award Winners Collage

The 2021 UN Correspondents Association (UNCA) Awards for best journalistic coverage of the United Nations and UN Agencies

Winners will be honored at a gala event in New York in December 2021 (date TBD)

The 25th annual UNCA Awards honors journalists from around the world who have provided the best coverage of UN activities worldwide in print, online and broadcasting media in three categories: the COVID-19 pandemic (new), climate change and coverage of the United Nations and its agencies

United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres will be the guest of honor of the evening. The black-tie event is attended by UN ambassadors, high-level UN officials, Hollywood celebrities, humanitarians, corporate and cultural organizations, and international media.

The top prize of Global Citizen of the Year and Global Advocate of the Year is given to high-profile individuals who are working out solutions to various global issues, from conflict resolution and humanitarian relief to disease control and climate change. Previous honorees include President Bill Clinton, Sir Richard Branson, Ted Turner, Professor Jeffrey Sachs, Nicholas Cage, Stevie Wonder, Michael Douglas, Sting & Trudie Styler, Andrea Bocelli & Veronica Berti, Prince Albert II of Monaco, Leonardo DiCaprio, Angelina Jolie, Adrian Grenier, Amal Clooney and Ashley Judd.

The UNCA Awards is a non-profit organization devoted to encouraging and rewarding excellence in journalism, founded in 1948.

The Awards:

1. The Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize for coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic, sponsored by the Alexander Bodini Foundation. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV & Radio).

2. The Prince Albert II of Monaco and UNCA Global Prize for Coverage of Climate Change. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV & Radio).

3. The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize
for coverage of the United Nations, UN agencies and field operations, sponsored by the United Nations Alliance of Civilizations. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV & Radio)

Awards Committee:

Valeria Robecco (UNCA President), Giampaolo Pioli (Awards Chairman), Luke Vargas (UNCA Vice President), Seana Magee (UNCA Secretary), Tuyet Nguyen (Awards Selections Coordinator), Sherwin Bryce-Pease (UNCA Executive Member), Jianguo Ma (UNCA Executive Member), Maria Khrenova (UNCA Executive Member), Betul Yu-ruk (UNCA Executive Member)